Seyi Makinde re-elected as Oyo Governor

Oyo State Governor and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Seyi Makinde, was on Sunday, March 19, declared as the winner of Saturday’s governorship election in the state by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Seyi Makinde re-elected as Oyo Governor

Makinde polled 563,756 votes to beat his close rival Teslim Folarin of All Progressive Congress who scored 256,685 votes, while Adebayo Adelabu of Accord Party scored 38,357 votes.

The PDP candidate won 31 out of the 33 local government areas in the state, while Folarin came second by winning two local governments of Irepo and Ore-lope.

Seyi Makinde re-elected as Oyo Governor

The state Returning Officer, Olusola Kehinde who announced Makinde’s victory, said;

“That Makinde Oluseyi having satisfied the requirement of the law is declared winner of the poll.” 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *