Twitter has launched its Circle feature (which lets you post a tweet to a select set of people), globally.
The company started testing this feature, similar to Instagram’s ‘Close Friends’, in May, and currently, ‘Twitter Circle’ is now available to all users.
Tweeps can add up to 150 people to their Circle. When you want to send out a tweet that you might not want the entire Twitterverse to see, you can choose to share it with your small Circle instead.
While composing a tweet, you’ll see the option to share to your Circle or make the tweet public.
Users won’t receive a notification when you add or remove them from your Circle, but those included in your Circle will see a highlighted badge that reads, “Only people in @[username]’s Twitter Circle can see this tweet” beneath posts sent to your Circle.
The feature could help users gain a little more control over their privacy without making their accounts completely private.
However, content shared with your Circle is still subject to the platform’s community guidelines, and it also doesn’t stop other users from screenshotting your posts.